Share your berry, fruit and nut tree recommendations

Help an Island newbie out. :smiley:
I’m very new to the valley and have a quarter acre yard in Courtenay near the Puntledge.

I want to plant my front yard in berries (raspberries, blueberries, saskatoons, thimble berries and cherry trees) And the back yard into a fruit and nut orchard (apple, pear, plum, fig, hazelnuts, pecan).

What berry, fruit and nut varieties have folks planted that you feel are WINNERS? :+1:
What are your experiences of varieties that you planted that just didn’t work out? :-1:
What varieties have you planted that do well through the hot and dry?

Would love to learn from your experiences.

2 Likes

Welcome to the Island, and to the Comox Valley, Erin!

We have raspberries and hazelnuts on our property that I do not know the variety of - they were backyard hand-me-downs, so can’t be of any advice there. We do have TONS of thimbleberries, which are native here. I’m not sure that I would choose to plant them if they didn’t just grow wild on our property. The birds like them, but for us, I find that they are okay to eat as you browse around, but they squash very easily, aren’t very juicy, and you would need to have a huge area given over to them if you wanted enough to do anything with. We actually have a huge area of them because they came up where we left nature to take its course, and I don’t bother much with them because the cultivated fruits are much more productive. They are very weedy so difficult to manage too.

Hope that helps a wee bit!

2 Likes

Hi,