Fruit Tree Whisperer

Does anyone know of a fruit tree expert that we can hire to help us with fruit production?

We have pear (two different varietals) apple, plum, kiwi, fig, cherry, peach and a fruit salad tree. None but the apple have produced any fruit of substance (most are about 10 years old). All of them are producing a ton of green growth. We have had a professional in to show us how to prune and we’ve tried a few different techniques—last summer we tried to summer prune because that apparently helps with fruit production. It’s becoming disheartening because it takes a full year to discover that something doesn’t work :). We would love to find someone that we could hire to help us out with this…we’re tired of fiddling around…thank you!

I’m no expert but had a few thoughts. Just wondering if you are getting a lot of blossoms or not, and if you are, is it that they are not being pollinated? If you are doing the correct pruning I can’t imagine why you aren’t getting fruits, other than the lack of pollination. Do the trees get enough sun? You’ve probably gone over all of this already!

There is Bob Duncan from fruit trees and more in Saanich. It’s worth to give him a call. Also the Tree Eater at Denman Island. This might lead to something hopefully. Pollination is a good point too.
Best of luck

1 Like